This is what I am: Week 2 food diary

So here’s week 2 – from Wednesday 13th April to Tuesday 19th April inclusive:

  • 4 Weetabix
  • 2,000ml whole milk
  • 20g granulated sugar
  • 300g cooked chickpeas
  • 60g pine-nuts
  • 105ml olive oil
  • 980g potato
  • 4 bananas
  • 4 apples
  • Half can tuna in water
  • 90g Parmesan cheese
  • 220g spinach
  • 240g home-made cake
  • 100ml fruit smoothie
  • 210g bran flakes
  • 60g fried fish
  • 340g chicken
  • 90g chorizo
  • 2 rounds assorted sandwiches*
  • Spinach ricotta parcel*
  • 600ml orange juice
  • 700ml white wine
  • 200ml champagne
  • Portion prawn and coconut Thai curry and rice*
  • 60g porridge oats
  • 30ml golden syrup
  • Portion pasta with vegetables*
  • Small slice garlic bread*
  • Portion fruit trifle*
  • 50g tortilla chips
  • 2 tins sild in oil (drained)
  • 450g purple sprouting broccoli
  • 105g (uncooked weight) brown rice
  • Corned beef and rice*
  • 200ml red wine
  • Fried plantain
  • 4 shredded wheat
  • 1 small pork pie
  • 50g grapes
  • 100g Yorkshire pudding
  • 100g ginger yoghurt
  • 2 Ryvita crispbread
  • 7g butter
  • 75g vegetable crisps
  • 165g natural yoghurt
  • 300g (cooked weight) pinto beans

Items with asterisks were stuff I ate away from home, and I’ve given my best guess as to their calorific value in the total below. If you’re wondering what happened to my meat-free Lent, er, well, um… My excuses are a) we Anglicans don’t count Sundays as part of Lent and b) I was in other people’s houses several times last week, and didn’t want to be rude. Or something like that.

It all tots up to a total number of calories spookily identical to last week’s tally: 16,400 (about 2,350 a day). Alcohol consumption was slightly up at 16 units (of which about 12 were consumed on one day, so I’m officially a binge drinker!)

My blood pressure (taken in the morning before exercise) was 100/74, and resting heart rate was 56 beats/min. I weighed 69.3Kg.

I know you’ll all be disappointed, but the food diary is taking a couple of weeks off as I’m going to France on Thursday. France and food diaries do not mix, and I’ve no intention of sitting morosely in some Michelin-starred food temple, jotting down chef’s ingredients, and being scowled at by my wife.

For those who perhaps can’t imagine why on earth I’d be doing this, the nearest you’ll get to an answer is here.

Leave a Reply

