I’m sick to death of the death penalty…

Sometimes a snappy list is more effective than closely argued text. So this is why the very idea of restoring the death penalty is the purest load of old bollocks:

  • The death penalty is not a deterrent. Look at America. I rest my case.
  • Miscarriages of justice happen. Too many times to recount here. Google it.
  • Wrongly executed people can’t be resuscitated. Do I need to explain?
  • Whatever method you use, it’s barbaric. Including being “put to sleep” like a dog.
  • Revenge is not justice.
  • And even if it were (for the religious amongst us), it is mine, saith the Lord.
  • Finally, all the people I know who support it are one or more of: under 14, rabidly right-wing, mentally challenged.

I think that about wraps it up.

2 thoughts on “I’m sick to death of the death penalty…

  1. I hope accepting vengence as God’s doesn’t mean accepting all the rest of Leviticus (from when the reference comes). Especially the bits about killing gays, adulterers and witches.

Leave a Reply

